Skip to main content
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Kleiman Creative Writing Contest Awards for 2022

The Kendallville Public Library announced the winners of the 23nd Annual Kleiman Creative Writing Contest during an Awards Ceremony at the Community Learning Center on Thursday, April 21. Nearly 300 students entered books for the contest in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Graphic Novel, and Poetry. Each book was judged, bound, and was returned to the students during the awards ceremony.

4th Grade Winners

4th grade Fiction

1st Place: Arianna Howell (Wayne Center)

2nd Place: Bree Messer (Wayne Center)

3rd Place: Hannah Leathers (St. Marys)

Creative Awards: Liam Deming (Avilla), Mya Murray (Avilla), Zach Hays (Wayne Center)


4th grade Poetry

1st Place: Victoria Lee (South Side)

2nd Place: Grace Maners (Wayne Center)

3rd Place: LeBron Rodriguez


4th grade Non-Fiction

1st Place: Blake Silver (Wayne Center)

2nd Place: Beau Bolen (Wayne Center)

3rd Place: Holden Buwalda (St. Johns)


4th grade Graphic Novel

1st Place: Alexiana Arellano (Avilla)

2nd Place: Brooklyn Rorick (Avilla)

3rd Place: Zach Starry (Wayne Center)

5th Grade Winners

5th grade Fiction

1st Place: Bryce Shultz (Avilla)

2nd Place: Sophia Richardson (Wayne Center)

3rd Place: Maddi Harlan (Wayne Center)

Creative Awards: Lucy Warner (St. Marys), Kyndra M. Krontz (Wayne Center), Landon Arnold (St. Marys)


5th grade Poetry

1st Place: Jayden May (Wayne Center)

2nd Place: Owen Will (Wayne Center) 

3rd Place: Aryton Streich (Wayne Center)

Creative Awards: Kennedy David (Wayne Center), Bailey Ruse (Wayne Center)


5th grade Non-Fiction

1st Place: Sydnee Hillier (Wayne Center)

2nd Place: Tyler Leighty (Wayne Center)


5th grade Graphic Novel

1st Place: Lila Newhall (Wayne Center)

2nd Place: Cassidy Carmichael (Wayne Center)

3rd Place: Bradlee Sherman (Wayne Center)

6th Grade Winners

6th grade Fiction

1st Place: Jennavieve McWhirter (Homeschool)

2nd Place: Anna Le Conrad (St. Johns)

3rd Place: Annabelle McWhirter (Homeschool)

Creative Award: Fyo Hayden (St. Johns)


6th grade Non-Fiction

1st Place: Amelia Winkle (St. Marys)

2nd Place: Isaac Spare (St. Marys)

3rd Place: Brooklyn Rupley (St. Marys)

Creative Awards: Eleanor Gibson (St. Marys), Vivian Gabet (St. Marys)

First place winners receive a $50 gift card and a copy of their winning entry will be added to the collections of the Kendallville Public Library and the winner's school library. Second and third place winners, as well as creative awards, also receive gift cards.

David Kleiman, son of Isadore and Pearl Kleiman, who started the contest in their parents' honor, continues to be involved today, along with his own children and grandchildren. The library is grateful for their continued support.